Tax Procedure (Completed)

Date: Wednesday, June 19, 2024
Instructor: Allison McLeod
Begin Time:  1:00pm Pacific Time
2:00pm Mountain Time
3:00pm Central Time
4:00pm Eastern Time
CPE Credit:  2 hours for CPAs
2 hours Federal Tax Related for EAs and OTRPs
2 hours Federal Tax Law for CTEC

NOTE: Go to My Professional Profile in your CCH CPELink account settings to ensure your name, and PTIN number; matches your PTIN card

This seminar will review situations in which a CPA or accounting professional may be in danger of being sued. We will cover common law causes of action, such as negligence, and the relevant standards and case law defining what constitutes reasonable practitioner behavior. This course is ideal for lawyers, CPAs, EAs, tax preparers, accountants and insurance personnel.

Topics Covered

  • Selection for Audit
  • Audit Process
  • Revenue Agents Report (30 day letter)
  • Collections
  • Preparer Penalties
  • Statute of Limitations

Learning Objectives

  • Define the elements of negligence, the common law cause of action
  • Explain what constitutes reasonable practitioner behavior with reference to practice standards and common law.
  • Ascertain how to avoid common pitfalls that could lead to the practitioner being sued

Level
Basic

Instructional Method
Group: Internet-based

NASBA Field of Study
Taxes (2 hours)

Program Prerequisites
None

Advance Preparation
None

">
 Chat — Books Support